Centre Director Judges the Department for Education's Character Awards 17th February 2015 Centre News Character Education

On Thursday 12th and Friday 13th February 2015, Centre Director Professor James Arthur, formed part of the judging panel for the Department for Education's Character Awards, which were announced in December 2014 under the Department's £5 million Character Innovation Fund to support the development of character in schools.  The 2015 Awards recognise 27 schools and organisations across the country for their efforts in promoting character traits, attitudes and behaviours, such as resilience and grit, among young people.  The winning schools will be announced on the Department for Education's website shortly, and the overall winner will be announced at the Character Awards Ceremony on 16th March in London.  

Professor Arthur was joined on the judging panel by the Chair, Victoria Beer CBE (Chair of the Teaching Schools Council and Executive Principal for the West Trafford Learning Partnership); Maggie Alphonsi MBE (England Rugby player, Athlete Mentor Manager and Rugby World Cup 2015 Ambassador); Rob Wall (Head of Education and Employment Policy, CBI); Dr Kevan Collins (CEO of The Education Endowment Foundation); Charlotte Hill (CEO of Step up to Serve); Jill Litchfield (Headteacher at Bournehall Primary School, Bushey, Hertfordshire and part of the national teaching schools network); and Diane Reynard (Principal of the East Specialist Inclusive Learning Centre in Leeds and a member of the Teaching Schools Council).

You may also be interested in...