Thank You Letter Awards Ceremony 2016 12th May 2016 Centre News Gratitude

The Jubilee Centre was delighted to showcase thank you letters written by young people from across the UK, and internationally, with an awards ceremony on Wednesday 11th May 2016.  Over 40,000 young people have taken part in the 2016 Thank You Letter Awards and schools from up and down the country attended the celebratory event.   

The competition invited young people to write a letter to thank a person, a group or organisation that has really inspired them, made their life better or improved their local community, Britain or the world.  Many thanked their closest family members, friends, teachers, charities and inspirational figures.

Those at the ceremony were able to hear some of the letters being read out by the young people, and the finalists, runners-up and winners from both primary and secondary schools were announced and awarded their certificates and prizes.  Charlotte Hill, CEO of Step Up To Serve, presented the awards and spoke about who in her life she is particularly grateful to and why.  

One of the letters heard at the ceremony was a special thank you to Malala Yousafzai, who became the youngest person ever to be awarded a Nobel Peace Prize in 2014 when she was recognised for her courage and determination in fighting for children and women’s right to education. The Jubilee Centre was delighted to welcome Malala's parents to the awards ceremony where they were able to hear how Malala's story had inspired young people.

The finalists, runners up and winners from both primary and secondary categories are listed below.


Florence Underwood, Harborne Primary School, Birmingham
Edie Davies, Hook Lane Primary School, Kent
Chloe Pike, Hook Lane Primary School, Kent
Inigo Duffield, Windlesham School, West Sussex
Rashida Sillah, Broadford Primary School, Essex

Alfie Stewart, Hall Mead School, Upminster
Tessa Yau, Albyn School, Aberdeen
Robert Shaw, Albyn School, Aberdeen
Lydia Matterson, The Academy at Shotton Hall, County Durham
Santi Campo Arbolés, Viaró Global School, Spain

Winners and Runners Up



Adaeze Ordu, St Teresa Catholic Primary School, Birmingham


Charmaine, St Mary's and St John's C of E Primary School, London
Lyla Perkins, Harborne Primary School, Birmingham



Peace Buraimo, King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls, Birmingham


Vlad Gabriel, Thistley Hough Academy, Stoke-on-Trent
Kajol Korotania, Nishkam High School, Birmingham


Photos from the 2016 Thank You Letter Awards can be viewed below.

Thank You Letter Awards 2016


You may also be interested in...