10th Anniversary: Centre Recognises Three New Ambassadors of Character

As part of the Jubilee Centre 10th anniversary celebrations at the House of Lords, three Ambassador of Character Awards were presented to leading school educators. This forms part of a series of ten to be awarded throughout the Centre’s tenth anniversary year. Recognising their outstanding contributions to character education in practice, these commendations were given by Heather Templeton Dill, President of the John Templeton Foundation and Lord James O’Shaughnessy, Jubilee Centre Senior Fellow, in the Cholmondeley Room and Terrace on Friday 20th May 2022. The three new Ambassadors of Character are: Chris Clyne – Principal, Northampton Academy ‘Chris has played an instrumental role in introducing and developing character education at Northampton Academy since joining as Vice Principal in 2017. Now Principal of the school, Chris’ leadership and commitment to developing the character of both staff and pupils has helped to ensure that character education features prominently in all aspects of school life.’ Carole Jones – Headteacher, Yeading Junior School ‘Carole passionately leads character education at Yeading Junior School. Carole views character through the lens of social action and has actively established partnerships with parents and the community to empower her students to become responsible, knowledgeable young citizens who are able to influence others for the betterment of themselves and society.’ Adrian McLean – Director of Personal Development, Inclusion and Safeguarding, Severn Academies Education Trust ‘Adrian is a keen advocate of character education, and speaks passionately about this topic in school through his professional roles. Adrian works with staff, students and parents to understand the importance of character, and how these influence students’ success, and his research has focused on supporting collaborative practice between schools and parents.’ These three join David Lorimer and Ronnie Davidson (both Character Scotland), who were recognised as Ambassadors in March.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *