Character Education


Why Character Matters Writing Competition


The Why Character Matters Writing Contest was a competition open to University students from all institutions, subjects and disciplines. The contest required students to consider the meaning and importance of particular virtues in private, public and professional life. 


Students were asked to submit a piece of writing of no more than 500 words about ‘Why Character Matters’; this may have been a story, a poem, a personal reflection, a blog post, a short academic article, or any other format.

On 12th July, the winners fwere invited to an awards ceremony at the House of Lords and were presented with their awards by Lord James O’Shaughnessy.

Five overall winners were chosen:

Hollie Jones – University of Birmingham

Nicholas Fontana – University of London Law

David Elikwu – BPP University Law School

Samuel Bartlett – University of Birmingham

Maria Anderson – University of Huddersfield

IMG_1364 IMG_1366

Hollie Jones                                David Elikwu

IMG_1372 IMG_1379

      Samuel Bartlett                         Maria Anderson

You can read the winning entry from Hollie Jones on her blog page here

Details of previous writing contests also run by the Centre can be found at the bottom of this page.

2016 Why Virtue Matters Essay Contest 

Winners were presented with their awards as part of the 2016 Jubilee Youth Awards, held at the House of Lords on Thursday 14th July. The photos below are of Lucy and Mollie (Primary Winners) and Jessica* and Awais (Secondary Winners) receiving their awards from Lord James O’Shaughnessy (Jubilee Centre and Floreat Education) and Sir Nick Parker (Step Up to Serve).

* Jessica’s award was collected on her behalf by teacher

Essay Contest: Why Virtue Matters Winners, 2016

Primary Winners:

Lucy Snowdon                                 Dame Allan’s Schools, Northumberland

Mollie McHardy,                               Heversham St Peter’s CE Primary School, Cumbria


Secondary Winners:

Jessica Bonner                                  Highclare School, West Midlands

Awais Hussain                                  Dixons Kings Academy, West Yorkshire


Details of the 2015 finalists, and winners for each category, can be found below:

The contest ran for the first time in 2015 and received essays from 400 young people across both primary and secondary schools.

Overall Winner:

Primary Winners:



Secondary Winners:



Megan Edwards, Broadlands Primary Federated with Aylestone High School

Katie Seddon, Kings Langley School

Harry Batson, Wellington Academy

Georgia Parnham, Wellington Academy

Mina Staevska, Wellington Academy

Oscar Halm, Aylestone High School

Kate Laffey, Aylestone High School